Monday, July 13, 2020
Education And Training

Reserve bank challenge kicks off 

The Monetary Policy Committee Schools Challenge 2020 started the first round for in Mpumalanga on the 8th of February at EmnotweniThe national competition is a South Africa Reserve Bank (SARB) initiative endorsed by the Department of Basic Education and aims to stimulate interest in economics among high school learners, put theory into practice and to learn how the SARB makes interest rate decisions. 
Schools from across the country have been competing in this event since 2018. “Several young economists now working at the Reserve Bank had come through the challenge, added Nwabisa Ndzamo Reserve Bank Spokesperson.  
Each school enters four pupils, who have to write a monetary policy statement. Thereafter, each province is gradually added to the competition. Mpumalanga started participating in the event from 
2016, working alongside Irene Mabena, the Department of Basic Education Provincial Coordinator. 
This year, around 120 learners from across the province took part in the event. The challenge consists of a workshop, where the pupils were taught how to structure the statement, and given data to use in 
a simulation. Asive Dwayi, 17, from Despatch Senior Secondary, said she was learning that monetary policy was of huge importance because it affected things like inflation and unemployment. 
Reserve Bank Spokesperson Nwabisa Ndzamo said the broad objectives of the challenge were to improve young people’s grasp of economics, to get them to consider a career in the field, and to help them understand how the Bank fitted into the economy and the wellbeing of South Africans. 
“To achieve that, the goal is to get the participants into the shoes of the governor of the Reserve Bank said Ndzamo. 
In August the top seven teams will be invited to Pretoria to the SA Reserve Bank itself, where they will present their statements to the three sitting deputy governors. At the beginning of September, the finalists will be invited back to the Bank to an event hosted by SA Reserve Bank Governor Kganyago and Basic Education Minister Angie Motshekga where the winner would be announced.
Each pupil in the winning team will take home R12,000 plus a study bursary which includes tuition, accommodation and a stipend, and the winning school gets R25,000. 

Related posts

Survey reveals challenges for small businesses amidst Covid-19

Mpofu Sthandile

SABC to air school lessons

Mpofu Sthandile

Dr. Gcina Mhlope takes storytelling to the South African Book Fair

Viwe Tyolwana

Leave a Comment