Education And Training

Applause for Matric class 2020 in the Ramotshere Moiloa area

A celebratory event took place last week to honour the academic excellence of the Matric Class of 2020, in the Ramotshere Moiloa Sub-District. Top learners, school principals, as well as District Managers, Circuit Managers and Councillors, attended the event and were addressed by the Ramotshere Moiloa Sub-District’s top achiever, Keboneilwe Kalayamotho, who gave a motivational and heart-warming address.

Keboneilwe, who comes from the small rural village of Matlhase, has already secured a placement at the University of Johannesburg to study LLB law and addressed attendees, saying, “Congratulations to the class of 2020 for making it against all odds. Indeed the worst conditions makes a champion, so let’s go out there and do the most.”

Previously a leaner at Motsaalore Secondary School, she also accredited the importance of her teachers and recognised the critical role that they play in helping learners succeed. “To the teachers of Motsaalore Secondary, I want you to take pride in what you do, and for the selflessness and the love you have for your profession,” added Keboneilwe.

This Grade 12 excellence awards programme, was funded by Zeerust Solar in partnership with the
Ramotshere Moiloa Sub-District of the Department of Education. As part of Zeerust Solar’s Economic Development programme, the purpose of this awards event was to stimulate and honour academic achievements of Matriculants, in schools across the Sub-District and motivate future Matriculants to strive for excellence to pursue their studies further at Tertiary Institutions.
Unlike previous years, learners had to wait until late February 2021, to receive their final academic results.

North West Province had 36 871 candidates writing the 2020 matric finals with over 32% achieving a Bachelor’s pass. The focus of Zeerust Solar’s Economic Development programme is to empower and strengthen local communities in and around the Ramotshere Moiloa local municipality, namely Ikageleng, Henryville, Olienhout Park, Shalimar Park, Welbedacht (Lehurutshe Town) and Groot Marico, as well as extending to 40 villages located within the Municipal area.

Related posts

NSF captures world’s first most detailed picture of the suns surface

Viwe Tyolwana

SABPA predicts 14 000 jobs in 4 years in blueberry industry

Viwe Tyolwana

Social Development,USAID go back to basics

Amanda Mkhize
Social TV